NTA JEE Main Eligibility Criteria 2019 – All the candidates who are going to take the NTA JEE Main 2019 must first make sure that they are eligible to take the exam. The NTA JEE Main eligibility Criteria 2019 contains all the details that each aspirant must fulfill in order to fill out the NTA JEE Main Application form 2019 and eventually take the exam. The eligibility criteria are based on certain parameters like age, qualifying examination, qualifying year, subjects studied, etc. The National Testing Agency is going to conduct the JEE Main 2019 and will define the NTA JEE Main eligibility Criteria for all the candidates. Read the article below to know the various criteria that need to be fulfilled to take the NTA JEE Main 2019.

NTA JEE Main 2019 Eligibility Criteria

Candidates must have a look at the NTA 2019 eligibility criteria in detail before filling up the application form. All criteria must be fulfilled in order to take the exam. Given below are the main eligibility criteria to appear in the NTA JEE Main 2019:

Education Qualification – Candidate must have qualified 12th board exam or any other equivalent qualifying exam.

Students must qualify in at least 5 subjects including Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics along with English and an additional subject.

Candidates who have passed the 12th examination in 2016/2017 are eligible to apply. Candidates who will give their 12th class exams in the year 2018 can also apply for the same.

For improvement cases, any candidate who has passed in 2017 but is giving an improvement exam in 2018, the top 20 percentile for 2017 will be considered.

Candidates who have failed the qualifying examination in 2015 and are reappearing for the same in 2016 are not eligible to apply.

An acceptable list of qualifying exams will be given in the official JEE main brochure. It will include 10+2 final exam by a recognized board, Inter or PU exams, NDA final examination, SSSE by NIOS with a minimum of 5 subjects, school/ board/ university recognized equivalent to 10+2 by AIU. Also, IITs will accept HSC vocational exam, diploma, GCE by London/ Cambridge/ Sri Lanka at A level, HSCE by Cambridge University or the IB Diploma of the International Baccalaureate Office, Geneva.

Diploma candidates can also apply for JEE main but only for admission into IITs but not in JEE Main colleges.

Age limit

An ideal candidate’s date of birth should be on or after 1st October 1993.

For all the Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST) and Persons with Disabilities (PwD) are granted a relaxation of 5 years. So, candidates who belong to this category can have a date of birth on or after 1st October, 1988.

Note – Age will be calculated as per the DOB mentioned in the Secondary Education Board / University Certificate.

Other Eligibility Criteria

Candidates can only take the exam 3 times.

It is mandatory for all the Indian citizen candidates to have an Aadhar Card, details of which will be required at the time of filling up the admission form.

NTA JEE 2019 Eligibility Criteria for Admission into NITs, IIITs and CFTIs

Candidates who qualify the NTA JEE Main 2019 and who have obtained at least 75% of marks in 12th board exam or any equivalent qualifying exam or are in the Top 20 percentile of their 12th class will be shortlisted by JoSSA (Joint Seat Allocation Authority) while preparing the merit list.

Candidates who belong to the reserved category of SC/ST will require only 65% marks to qualify.

Candidates opting for courses B.Tech or BE must have qualified Physics and chemistry along with either of these – Biology/ Biotechnology/ Chemistry/ technical vocation.

Candidates opting for courses B. Arch or B. Planning must have passed class 12th with Mathematics.

Candidates appearing for the exam should first go through the eligibility criteria. Any candidate who is not eligible will strictly not be allowed to take the exam.

If you have any queries related to the eligibility criteria of NTA JEE Main 2019, do ask us in the comments section below.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here