Government has decided to conduct JEE Main 2021 Four Times from February 2021. Dr Ramesh Pokhriyal has indicated this in a recent webinar conducted on 16th December 2020. The exam dates have been announced for all the four sessions. National Testing Agency (NTA) conducts major examinations like JEE Main, NEET, UGC NET, etc. NTA is an autonomous body that conducts a few national-level examinations like JEE, NEET, GPAT. This decision has led to a lot of unanswered questions among some candidates. Among JEE Main candidates, one question is very common i.e. How many attempts in JEE Main? If you are also one of them then this post will help you in understanding the number of attempts in JEE Main.

Check Eligibility For NTA JEE Main Exam

Admission Open 2021
CUCET Admissions OpenApply Now!!
UPES Admissions OpenApply Now!!
SNU Admission OpenApply Now!!

Latest Updates

Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank has decided to conduct JEE Main might four times from February 2021. Check JEE Main Live Interaction with students.

JEE Main Schedule and Exam Dates 2021

The National Testing Agency has released the Application Form. Candidates can now apply by visiting the official website. Check the official announced dates.

JEE Main February/March/April/May 2021 Session 
Application Form release date16th December 2020
Last date of the submission of online form23rd January 2021
Last Date for a successful transaction of prescribed fees24th January 2021
Application Form Correction27th to 30th January 2021
Admit Card Release DateSecond Week of February 2021
Date of the JEE Main 2021 Exam23rd, 24th, 25th, and 26th February 2021 (February Session-I)

15th, 16th, 17th, and 18th March 2021 (March Session-II)

27th, 28th, 29th, and 30th April 2021

(April Session)

24th, 25th, 26th, 27th, and 28th May 2021 (May Session)

JEE Main Exam Timing(1st Shift: 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.)
(2nd Shift: 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.)
Answer Key release date
JEE Main result date

No. Of Attempts For JEE Main 2021

With the new structure of the exam under NTA, the Joint Entrance Examination Main is now taking place four times in a year (February, March, April, and May 2021). In a discussion with my friend Arun, I argued that the number of attempts is 6, keeping in mind the eligibility criteria that a candidate must have passed class 12th in 2019, 2020, or should be taking the final year examination in 2021. If this criterion is to be followed, then the number of attempts is 8 as the candidate will be able to take the exam 8 times in 3 consecutive years.

On the other hand, Arun debated that since NTA has taken the charge of conducting these exams twice and if the first session is to be held in February, the number of attempts will be limited to 4 for session 2021 for a candidate who had passed class 12th in 2020. But he was wrong because if a candidate qualified Class 12th in 2020 then he is eligible for appearing in JEE Main 2021 session also means the number of attempts is 6.

JEE Main Eligibility Criteria For Droppers

Candidates who are droppers can also fill JEE Main application form but there are some conditions. For appearing in the exam for the 2021 session, a candidate should have dropped out either in 2019 or 2020. This means if a candidate has passed the exam in 2019 then JEE Main 2021 attempt will be the last chance for him/her. On the other hand, if a candidate has qualified the exam in 2021 then the candidate is eligible for the 2021 and 2022 sessions examination. Those who had completed class 12th in 2018, 2017, or earlier, they do not fulfill the eligibility for JEE Main 2021.

JEE Main Eligibility Criteria 2021- FAQs

Question- What are the eligibility criteria to apply for NITs, IIITs, and GFTIs?
Ans- Candidates must have passed with a minimum of 75% marks (Unreserved), and 65% for (Reserved Category) or be in top in Class 12th Board Exams. 
Question- Who conducts the JEE Mains 2021?
Ans- The National Testing Agency conducts the JEE Main Examination.
Question- I live in Delhi but have completed Class 12th from Haryana. So, what is the State Code of Eligibility?
Ans- Your State Code of Eligibility is Haryana. Hence, the State Code of Eligibility is the code of the state from where the candidate has completed its Class 12th.

If you have any other questions in your mind then do let us know in the comment section below!


  1. Hello i am sidhartha prajapati from kolkata i am graduate in 2017 bt of one year try in other feild i failed to give 2018 jee main any way of giving 2019 jee


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here